FSC Identifies D-SIBs and D-SIFIs for 2024Jul 05, 2023

The Financial Services Commission identified five bank holding companies (BHCs) and five banks as domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs) for 2024 on July 5: KB Financial Group, Shinhan Financial Group, Hana Financial Group, Woori Financial Group, NH Financial Group, KB Kookmin Bank, Shinhan Bank, Woori Bank, KEB Hana Bank and NH Bank. Those identified as D-SIBs are required to set aside an additional common equity capital of 1.0%, and the higher loss absorbency requirement will take effect on January 1, 2024.


The FSC identifies D-SIBs every year in accordance with assessment criteria recommended by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS).


Meanwhile, the FSC also identifies D-SIBs as domestic systemically important financial institutions (D-SIFIs) under the amended Act on the Structural Improvement of the Financial Industry. D-SIFIs are required to prepare and submit their own recovery plans to the Financial Supervisory Service (FSS) within three months from the day of being designated as a D-SIFI.

* Please refer to the attached file for details.

Related Materials